The Save function is used to access the current status of projects later. Opening a project created in an older version with a newer version of ARCHLine.XP is provided. The other way around could cause issues as obviously not all functions in newer versions were available in the old.
Location: File> Save Project or Save project as
Saves all the views and other project related contents such as styles, materials, objects and profiles belonging to the project in ARCHLine.XP that have been modified since they were last saved.
ARCHLine.XP has a number of built-in security features (Autorecover, Backup archive), but none of these replace saving the project. Saved projects can not only be opened but also edited with ARCHLine.XP on another computer.
Projects should be saved not only when you complete the work on a given day, but also continuously during the design process, thus avoiding data loss after an unexpected program crash. Therefore, the program warns you if you haven't saved the current project for a long time.
How to save project
When you save a new project for the first time, the program always opens a dialog where you can select which folder on your computer you want to save it to. After the first save, projects can be saved in two ways:
- Save project: overwrites the previously saved project state with the current state.
- Save project as: saves the current status of the project as a new file on your computer. After saving, the program will automatically continue working in the version saved as a new file.
Article is closed for comments.